A Guy’s Guide to Dressing Well

Look who’s baaaack! I know, I know, it’s been a few weeks. School just recently ended and I needed some time to catch up on some sleep and relax. Happy summer, everyone! Okay, now back to business. I thought, what better way to kick-off my summer blogs than with a post designed specifically for men? I think I almost love shopping/dressing men as much as I do ladies. What can I say? I grew up with some pretty stylish men. So here goes nothing… I was going to make this a guy’s how-to dress for a date, but let’s be honest, men should always look this nice. Here we go!

First, let me begin with a bit of a disclaimer — I tend to prefer more classic styles. Eh, “preppy” if you will (minus the obnoxious bow ties and animal appliqués on pants). I think the items I’ve chosen are all timeless and will make any man look instantly dapper. Moving on…

See? Nothing too out of the ordinary here. Excuse the excess of Ralph Lauren, but the man is a fashion genius and one of my idols. He can do no wrong. With that being said, a simple polo or oxford will do the trick. Nothing too fancy about that, huh, boys? I (and most girls, I’ve observed) prefer it when our guy rolls up the sleeves of the bottom-ups, but I’m just sayin’. I don’t mind a man in color either, so if you’re up for it, pick a fun color. Oh, plaid is good, too. Just be careful the print isn’t too large, you don’t want to resemble your four-year-old self.

Again, nothing too crazy. That’s the point. Think very clean cut. Pick pants, jeans, or shorts with the right fit. Try a low-rise, straight leg fit when shopping for trousers and jeans. Khakis are always a nice choice — always. I don’t care if your grandpa wears them, the man obviously knows what’s up. As for jeans, dark wash is always a safe bet. A bit of a faded or classic-wash jean is just fine, too. Then for shorts, you can choose the chino style as shown above, or even a cargo (let’s go easy on the number of pockets, though, please). Oh, add a belt. Belts are your friend. Sagging pants are not attractive in the least.

Last, but not least: shoes! Clearly my favorite part of any outfit. I’ve selected some basics that go well with just about anything. TOMS, Polo, Adidas, and Sperry Top-Siders. Take your pick. You really can’t go wrong with any of these. And if you fellas like a sandal/flip-flop in the summer — go for it. Please refrain from wearing any kind of socks with them, though. It’s much appreciated.

Boom. There you have it. It’s not rocket science, but a lot of guys get led astray sometimes. When in doubt, keep it classic and stray away from flashy brands you probably wore in junior high or high school. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “A Guy’s Guide to Dressing Well

Please leave a reply for Kelsey!

